Not Weekly Baking

I fell behind in my weekly baking at the end of the year as my days began to fill with travel. While December is a month filled with baking for many I baked less than usual. I didn’t even get my usual day of christmas cookie baking in (grandma got Trader Joes cookies instead). And as I work to get back into a regular schedule I thought about breakfast. While I have a canister of granola waiting on the counter each morning I find myself too cold to think about yogurt and granola which leaves me with tea. Water, flavor and the 1/2 teaspoon of sugar I add is not so filling.

I was recently reminded of homemade instant oatmeal packets, something I tried briefly before and the last time I went to replenish the stash couldn’t find bulk instant oatmeal. This time around I found a recipe that calls for a quick oats as well as a few other variations. Did you know that dried milk can go bad? Yup – I was about use some of my dried milk (leftover from homemade hot chocolate mix this summer) when I sniffed it and pweew.

IMG_3881

I was going to try the big jar + shaking method when I chickened out, luckily I had 4 empty wide mouth half-pint jars – the perfect size to hold 2 “packets” worth of instant oatmeal. I just added salt to 2 jars and added salt, cinnamon, sugar and zante currants to the other 2 jars for some cinnamon raisin oatmeal. Now all I have to do is dump the contents in a bowl, add boiling water and stir. I suspect that if you are a one-packet eater the wide mouth half pint jars would make a perfect storage + eating vessel.

And the verdict?  Tasty enough if you tolerate or like instant oatmeal but 3/4 cup of oatmeal is too much food for me.  I ended up dumping out my two plain versions, mixed them up and re-measured them into 1/2 cup servings (and I added some flavorings). I really liked my cinnamon raisin version (and was meh on the apple-cinnamon version I made with some chopped dried apples). 3/4 cup of water was just right for my 1/2 cup of oatmeal since I like my oatmeal thicker than average. In fact when I make the non-instant stuff I use 2/3 cup oatmeal to 1 cup of water instead of the 1:2 oatmeal:water ratio most directions call for.

IMG_3883

January 25, 2011. Tags: , , . Cooking.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

