Quickie Project

I see cute coaster projects on a regular basis, but I would always think, “that’s nice, but I don’t use coasters.” But recently I noticed the little wooden stool I use as a side table was looking sort of worn. Maybe I should make coasters… I took a pile a scraps and some small squares of quilt batting with me to SewDay.

image

Since I had a few 2 1/2″ squares already cut I started by making four-patches. Then I put them on batting and did a bit of free form straight line spiral (echo?) quilting. And then sewed right sides together with a plain backing, trimmed any batting out of the seam allowance and flipped it out. Then I used the for the next month without slip stitching the opening shut.

image

But I did that the other night – yay finished object.

July 10, 2013. Tags: , , . quilting, Sewing.

6 Comments

  1. LubbyGirl replied:

    I make these too, and I love them. We do use coasters, or mug rugs, quite a bit. These are very nice!

    • anotheryarn replied:

      Thank you!

  2. Sarah replied:

    Ooh, I like the color scheme!

    Finishing everything but the slipstitching is totally the kind of move I would make. Good for you for closing the loop in the end!

    • anotheryarn replied:

      I almost described finishing this as closing the loop – what is that from again?  I think I’m in a closing the loop sort of mood regarding my crafting. Closing the loop is the best kind of crafty de-cluttering in my mind.

      >________________________________

  3. Sarah replied:

    Slip stitching, schmlip stitching. I say run a seam all the way around the outside edge and call it good. (I might be the laziest seamstress ever.)

    • anotheryarn replied:

      I’ve definitely take that approach on some projects.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

