Second Saturday in July

IMG_7866

The second Saturday in July is the Sisters’ Quilt Show. I’ve been lucky enough to go for the past three years but this seems to be the first year I actually managed to upload the photos and write a bit about it. The weather was just about perfect, hot but not too hot (well just a bit if you were standing in the sun for too long). It seemed a little bit less crowded than years past, but maybe I’m just adjusting my expectations. I got to wander the show with a few friends, that was nice and we took breaks for lunch, fudge, and ice cream. Kettle corn was also purchased. A bit of fabric shopping (I stuck to the fat quarters so I wouldn’t have to stand in line twice – once for cutting and then for paying).  This is a photo heavy post, so I’m going to make them smaller than usual, and if you click through to flickr you should find the accompanying photo with information about the quilt. There were many more quilts that I liked, but I tried to restrain myself with photos this year.

IMG_7848 IMG_7850
Amy Walsh (L) & Betty Daggett (R)

IMG_7852 IMG_7854
Hilde Morin (L) & Karla Alexander (R)

IMG_7856 IMG_7858
Betty Daggett (L) & Besty Biller (R)

IMG_7860 IMG_7862
Cathy Campbell (L) & Betty Anne Guadalupe (R)

IMG_7864 IMG_7867
Tierney Hogan (L) & unlisted employee of The Stitching Post (R)

IMG_7868 IMG_7870
Pam Bush (L) & Kristin Shields (R) (a better shot of the swing attached to the quilt)

IMG_7874 IMG_7877
Kristin Shields (L&R)

And my own PMQG had a special exhibit (I did not enter anything in this – I keep saying “next year”). But I was an idiot who, since I recognized most quilts completely forgot to take photos of the tags. I’m sorry fellow guild members – if I managed to get all the info I’ll edit this so everyone gets credit for their quilt. Thanks to the PMQG post I was able to give attribution, and if you want to see larger photos of each quilt individually check out the PMQG post.

IMG_7884

IMG_7885 IMG_7886
Petra Anderson, Nancy Kennedy, Christina Lane (L) & Katie Sciarrino, Amber Wilson, Gail Weiss (R)

IMG_7887 IMG_7888
Gail, Rachel Kerley, Linda Nussbaum (L) & Chelle Casey-Stevenson, Suzanne Gray (R)

IMG_7892 IMG_7889
Jeri Bonset, Jen Carlton-Bailly (L) & Cris Pera, AnnMarie Cowley (R)

IMG_7883 cropped
Kimberly Lumapas, PMQG Collaborative Quilt

July 20, 2013. Tags: , , . Life, quilting.

2 Comments

  1. Sarah replied:

    Wow — what gorgeous quilts! That is truly an art form.

    • anotheryarn replied:

      The range of quilts is just so vast – it is sort of amazing what some people can do with fabric.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

