WIPW: Aerial Quilt

In May I was able to take a class from Carolyn Friedlander about [foundation] paper piecing at Modern Domestic. The pattern/project for class was Carolyn’s Aerial quilt pattern. As written it can be a table topper, a wall hanging, a throw or a full/queen bed quilt. I love when pattern writers take the time to give us multiple quilt sizes (and their yardage requirements). The class happened the day after I got back in town from a week+ trip. Before the trip I pulled some fabric possibilities, but I forgot to finalize my decision until I arrived home the night before class (I left myself no time to start second guess, or shop obsessively for the “perfect” pieces). With my sister’s help I settled on the blue & grey selection and I love every piece that I choose (most purchased just because). I even tossed in a couple “my precious” pieces.

AerialFabricPullMosiac

I did a couple b&w shots to help me with value variation and started piecing. I think I finished two blocks during class.

Untitled (phone shot in class after I grouped strips into blocks)

The week after class I was super excited about the project and worked on a block a night for a few nights. Then I had 5 out of the 6 blocks needed and it languished. I finished that 6th block over the weekend. But I’m not sure it should be a wall hanging anymore.

Should it be a table runner for my new rectangular table?

IMG_8048
(how long are table runners supposed to be anyway?)

A wall hanging? Or should I make 30 more blocks so it can be a throw? Do I attempt to bed-size it?

Untitled
(that is laying on the unmade bed of the guest room, I think the wall color is blue, but it looks minty in certain lights).

I never bought the border fabric, so while that is an undecided factor, it opens up possibilities instead of limiting them due to fabric quantity. I estimate that if I cut up the rest of the fabric (I cut one to two strips from each print initially) I need about one more yard to have enough for 30 more blocks. But I found that last block sort of tedious to make (there is one seam I find myself ripping and redoing 2-3 times per block). What if I hate making them after a few more blocks? Does it really work for my house? Do I just want to be done with the project? What sort of end project will I find most functional in my home?

September 11, 2013. Tags: , , . quilting.

3 Comments

  1. bethh replied:

    I vote table runner, especially if you can make one more block and/or add some length by border fabric. I think a runner should either be centered on the table (leaving room for a diner at each end) or run all the way off the edge. (p.s. I know nothing about any Rules of Runners if such exist!)

  2. sarahkerner replied:

    I really like the colors and it does look like it fits into your decor, at least in all the pictures you showed here. A bed sized project is a massive undertaking… So if you decide not to do that, I think a table runner would look nice. I believe the ends should be long enough to hang over the ends of the table, though, so you would probably need a few more blocks?

    • anotheryarn replied:

      Table runner is definitely the top contender. For now, I’ve set the project and extra fabric aside. When I pull it out again I will make one more block, which will give me a nice long table runner (for the table extended or an overhang) and a fresh look on how I feel about the construction of the blocks.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

