How many socks in a pair?

I have this horrible curse of knitting three heels every time I make a pair of socks. This go round I actually knit three whole socks to get a pair. But the good news is it only took me 6 months to knit a pair of socks instead of my usual 12 months.

IMG_8057

Pattern: Go With the Flow Socks by Evelyn A. Clark from Favorite Socks
warning: despite being a republished pattern my copy still had errata (the number of stitches for the heel – which meant, yup I knit four heels)
Yarn: Cascade Heritage Solids in white – the final two socks weigh in at 62 grams total.

I started these socks this spring after my mom requested handknit socks she could wear with her sneakers. Of course I did a gauge swatch and determined I needed to find a pattern that used 60 stitches around instead of 64. I actually started knitting Hedera first, but for the second time it wasn’t working for me, then I settled on this pattern. It has a super simple repeat (4 rows and 6 stitches). The first sock knit up quickly and I actually thought these could become a mother’s day gift. Ha.

IMG_8060

Can you see what went wrong? I hated knitting these socks with 4 dpns so after I finished the first sock I bought a new set of needles and cast on for the second sock. But it took forever for me to get ahold of another pair of 2.0 mm needles. I eventually settled on a set of KP Harmony dpns. Finally in July I kitchenered the second toe. I had been counting rows like crazy to make sure the socks would be the same size. One seemed a bit smaller, I counted again and my numbers matched so I figured it block out. I tried the socks on and then I knew there was no way these socks made a pair – one was significantly smaller than the other! It took me over two weeks to realize that the difference between Clover bamboo 2.0 mm dpns and KP Harmony 2.0 mm dpns were the culprit. And then I couldn’t find the Clover dpns, I had managed to loose them in my house, and none of the stores near me carried them. Eventually I found a pair across town. And eventually I knit the third sock. And it matched the first! (Also I learned if I’m monogamous with my knitting, and pick it up everyday I can knit a sock in less than a month.)

November 19, 2013. Tags: , . Knitting.

3 Comments

  1. bethh replied:

    gah! So the question is: will you knit a FOURTH?

    • anotheryarn replied:

      Absolutely not. The too small sock has already been frogged. I think I have enough leftovers for a pair of ankle socks.

  2. Sarah @ Beauty School Dropout replied:

    You are a better knitter than me — I think after that second sock came out too small I would have thrown in the towel!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

