WIPW: Perfect is better than done?

No it isn’t… but my brain keeps trying to tell me that. I have too many works in progress. Each time I try to count them I loose track, and if I attempt to put them all on the sewing table it gets buried and takes forever to unbury it. Here is one of many WIP. I’m trying to whittle them done and not start new projects (but I have two I’ve mentally started anyway).

wonky cross blocks pillow top

This will be a pillow top that coordinates with a pillow that I finished two years ago and cut out three years ago. I had 7 extra blocks, so I made 9 more. I had to get a little creative with that red dot since I was running out of it. And then I went and decided that I couldn’t live with the blobby pinwheel in the center of the top so I had to rip three seams and reassemble it (lesson: layout before seaming blocks). I’m still not really happy with it, but am calling close-enough. Now to find my stash of crummy fabric to use on the back of my pillow-top quilt sandwich.

March 5, 2014. Tags: , . quilting.

5 Comments

  1. wombatquilts replied:

    Love those crosses. I must admit I am a “done is better than perfect person”. Too many ideas to get stuck perfecting one quilt. I wish I gad a little bit of perfectionist in me…just a little.

    • anotheryarn replied:

      I actually hate that my brain keeps telling me perfect is better than done. I want to get stuff done.

  2. Sarah @ beauty school dropout replied:

    My theory on craft projects is, if it bugs me, even if no one else can see it, I always fix it. It makes me crazy to spend so much time on something then not love the finished product.

    • anotheryarn replied:

      That was my reasoning for taking the seam ripper to this project. I don’t mind redoing when needed, but where I get stuck is when a project goes in timeout and I then I move onto other things.

  3. Kelly @ blue birds sews replied:

    it looks good to me! I’m with Cath, I like done better than perfect, expect for glaringly bad problems – but isn’t that the point of wonky! :) Your crosses are lovely!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

