One Community: April

I’ve been meaning to try out this One Community photo project for a while now In the words of AfricanKelli:

One Community is a monthly photo project in which participants photograph their homes and communities with a theme in mind. The theme varies by month. The goal is to both showcase similarities and differences in our communities worldwide – and bring us all closer together in understanding through art.

April’s words are: Spring, Purple, Flowers and Rise. This month’s link-up is hosted on Sarah’s (Beauty School Dropout) blog. Last week I grabbed my camera while I took the dog for a longer than usual walk. Spring has sprung here and we are having unusually sunny weather.

One Community April
Flowering tree on my block

One Community April
Grape Hyacinths in a neighbor’s yard. I also love the moss covered rock.

One Community April
My grandmother had camellia bushes growing in front of her house my whole life, it wasn’t until a few years ago that I realized they bloom at all because most of my visits were in the summer and fall.

One Community April
I think Camellia’s are more of a winter/early spring bloom as they’ve been blooming for a while now and are decidedly on their way out by April.

One Community April
I really need to remember to plant some hyacinths this fall. I might actually stop sticking my nose into other neighbors flowers if I had some of my own.

IMG_8286
On our Saturday morning walk I was super excited to see that the Trilliums had started blooming.

IMG_8299
I’m always trying to get a photo to capture how massive the trees are. These are in a park near my house.

 

And I might have had the Sunset Western Garden Book in my lap while I wrote this to confirm flower names and spellings.

April 9, 2014. Tags: , . Life, Thoughts.

6 Comments

  1. Funky Wellies replied:

    Spring is just so perfect to take photos. :)
    Gorgeous flowers and I love the last photo of the trees. xx

  2. K replied:

    WOW! Those photos are great. I am so envious of all of those flowers! Where do you live?

    • anotheryarn replied:

      Well none of them are in my yard. It is utterly lacking in flowers though I plan to remedy that one day. (I have one cluster of tulips and a smattering of wild violets). I’m in Portland.

  3. Sarah @ Beauty School Dropout replied:

    It’s so fun to see the flowers growing in your part of the world, Michelle! I think we call those camellias “peonies” where I grew up. My sister had them in her wedding and they were so pretty! Thanks for linking up.

    • anotheryarn replied:

      Oh, I do see the resemblance to peonies (they were my wedding flowers too) – but these are different. Camellias are large bushes/trees while peonies are smaller clusters of stems maybe reaching 2 feet. I’ll try to take a photo of the whole bush tomorrow.

  4. Amy replied:

    Stopping by through the link-up. What a beautiful floral stroll through this month’s words. I love your memory of camellias – I associate them with my Grandma’s house, too. Last summer we vacationed at Mackinac Island & I became captivated with trillium while in our private carriage tour around the island – lovely.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

