Fajitas

The Husband made fajitas tonight.  I want to share the recipe (bear with our non-measuring cooking selves) because I just think it is so good and a nice easy supper.  All measurements are guestimates since the palm and the eye were our his measuring utensils.

Our chicken fajitas
Chicken (today 3 thighs, skinnned and boned) cut into strips and chunks where necessary
Onion (today 1/2 medium onion) I like them cut lyonnaise-style (think crescent moon shapes)
Bell peppers (today 1 small green, half a red) into 1/4" by 2" strips
oil (enough to coat the pan)
chipotle powder (today 1/2 to 1 teaspon, start with less to control the heat)
cumin (today 2 teaspoons)
Salt (today 1 teaspoon kosher salt)

Heat oil in pan.  Add peppers and onions, saute for a 3-4 minutes, toss in chicken, sprinkle with chipotle,  cumin and salt.  Saute for another 3-4 minutes.  Adjust seasonings as necessary.  We serve with tortillas, grated cheese and salsa.  Sometimes we also have gauc, sour cream, lettuce and other toppings.  Frankly I'm not really sure how these vary from soft tacos but they are now known as fajitas in my house.

We use our 12" calphalon hard-anodized "everyday" pan for this dish.  I love how there are two short handles and a nice lid.  Calphalon makes a version of this pan in a number of their lines (we got the commercial version), I like how they fit in the kitchen sink if soaking in necessary and not dealing with a long handle.  But it is our first hard-anodized pan and we are still getting used to cleaning it.

I bought the chipotle (ground red) from Penzeys Spices.  They have a mail order catalog but I go to a store (one is about 15 minutes from my house) and they have jars of everything so you can smell the spices and recipe cards for a number of things (warning, The Husband gets overwhelmed by all the smells in the store).  One thing I really like is that they offer a wide variety of sizes, everything from 1/4 cup jars (the chipotle 1/4 c jar gives you 1.2 oz) to 1 pound bags.  Not as cheap as being able to buy bulk (where I can buy the 1 tablespoon needed) but still pretty nice and then I don't collect numerous unidentified baggies with spices in my spice drawer.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

August 7, 2006. Tags: , . Cooking, former Vox Blog.

2 Comments

  1. fauxmiddlechild replied:

    these sound yummmy!

  2. aden replied:

    These sound really good! I copied this down to try later.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

