Vending machine 1, Me 0

So I totally flopped on packing my lunch today.  I woke up in a hurry, wasn't overly hungry, nothing sounded good so I grabbed some cut-up cantaloupe, a serving of cinnamon applesauce and a fork.  I thought, well I have that trail mix that has been sitting in my bag forever (sounds appetizing already) and the string cheese I didn't eat yesterday.

It turns out that by lunch time I didn't want cantaloupe or applesauce.  So today for lunch I ate:

  • 1 string cheese
  • 1 bag chili-cheese Frito's
  • 1 piece cake (courtesy of the cake party at work)

Bad me.  I should have grabbed one of my frozen TJ rice bowls.  I buy the Lemongrass and chicken, Chicken vindaloo, Kung Pao chicken, and Thai Red Curry with shrimp rice bowls as well as a noodle bowl involving sesame and ginger…I found the teriyaki bowls to be way too sweet for my taste, the Massaman curry was too hot and a spinach with tandoori chicken unmemorable.  Typically I avoid frozen meals with rice, I don't end up liking the texture (growing up eating long grain brown rice might have something to do with that hang-up).  If I buy frozen meals at the grocery store I get Healthy Choice (Flavor Adventures line have proven decent) looking for pasta, meat cut in small chunks and avoiding cheese and anything involving side dishes (or dessert).  Lean Cuisine has a some decent meals as well, but some are barely 200 calories and if I am grabbing a frozen meal I don't want to worry about a snack as well (same goes for Weight Watchers Smart Ones).  I avoid Marie Calendar meals because if I am going to eat something with that much fat (the Alfredo is supposed to be good) give me cream, butter and Parmesan cheese not a frozen version.

A couple people have asked for my lunch ideas.  I promise I will share them soon and I hope others will share their lunch ideas too.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

August 11, 2006. Tags: . former Vox Blog, Thoughts.

2 Comments

  1. fauxmiddlechild replied:

    Every once in a while, I think it's ok to let the vending machine win 🙂

  2. wickedlibrarian replied:

    I've been so bad ALL WEEK. Today I'm taking all the cash out of my wallet so even if the vending machine is calling, I won't answer.

    Luckily I've only been succumbing to popcorn, so it could have been WORSE, but it's still more than I need to be eating.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

