One less WIP, same amount of FOs

So that Knitty Xback tank I was knitting.  I almost finished.  And that is where it ends (it doesn't look half-bad from the front)I had to determine the proper strap length, connect the straps and weave in the ends. 

But it didn't seem worth it for a fit like this (there is a number of inchese of fabric between the strap on the back):

It does help a little to know that many people had a similar problem.  Last I remember (granted it has been a while) my gauge was correct, but apparently this yarn had more stretch than the yarn used by the pattern designer.  I will probably try the project again someday.  I don't know if I will use the same yarn.  And I will definitely check gauge more often AND try on the progress.  Other knitters recommended waist shaping, that also sounds like a good idea just as soon as I figure out how to do that.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

October 11, 2006. Tags: , , . former Vox Blog, Knitting.

2 Comments

  1. Fattypants replied:

    That is too bad. It's cute from the front! I am very impressed by the idea of even trying something like that. I just learned how to make hats.

  2. AnotherYarn replied:

    It was my second foray into non-hat non-scarf knitted objects (the first was a baby sweater, that is not perfect but…). Yeah, I do like the overall style (although the camera is hiding the funkyness of the straps…probably another symptom of bad gauge).

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

