11 months to candy corn season

I generally don't get into halloween until it is nearly upon us.  Yesterday I had a brief thought of dressing up but then decided I didn't want to spend a day's effort for a handful of trick-or-treaters.  Other than a lone pumpkin I purchased a couple weeks ago (I know better than to wait until the day before) I didn't pull out my meager halloween decorations until last night. 

And I just, I do mean just, carved my pumpkin.  At 6 pm on Halloween night.  At first I was waiting so it wouldn't go bad, then I just didn't feel like it.  Finally I decided on a pumpkin theme and used a cookie cutter to make a pumpkin with star cut-outs.  If you haven't tried one of those pumpkin carving kits with the wussy looking little saws and flat plastic pumpkin guts spoon I suggest you do.  I purchased mine a couple years ago for like 50% a couple days before halloween and was simply amazed at how easy it was to carve the pumpkin.

Of course, I am all about the Halloween candy.  The month of October is Candy Corn month.  But not Target candy corn, that is very icky; Brach's is decent.  And since SlytherinLibrarian raved about the combo of candy corn and peanuts I decided to try it today (when I was out buying plastic spiders for decorating purposes I had to get my last bag of candy corn for the season).  Yum.  Sort of like eating a payday candybar.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

November 1, 2006. Tags: , , . Thoughts.

2 Comments

  1. Food/Crafts/Books Girl replied:

    I love the star pumpkin! What a great idea!

  2. Register Key replied:

    I myself, think candy corn is nasty. You may have mine [activates chatty tube].

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

