Fun with food

Just the other day I checked out The New Best Recipe from the library.  I've eyed this book before, but a group of people I know online are all cooking out of it and I wanted to join in.  

Tonight I made the Mushroom Risotto (I really like risotto it feels like fancy comfort food) and the Arugula and Roasted Pear Salad with Walnuts and Parmesan Cheese.  Wow, was this good.  Normally I'm not big on fruit in otherwise veggie salads with the exception of dried cranberries (which can make an ordinary green salad sing).  For some reason this called to me, I'm not even that big of a pear fan.  Now I know, I like roasted pears (peeled, sliced, tossed with butter, 500 degrees for 10 minutes, flip 5 more = perfect).  I like roasted pears on arugula (which is just fun saying, Aruuu-goo-la).  I love good parmesan slices.  And it was fairly simple (taking into acct the roasting and toasting of nuts) for a fancy salad.  Of course the wine could be talking here too (a good but cheap bottle from TJs).

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

November 10, 2006. Tags: . Thoughts.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

