Cranberry White Chocolate Chip Cookies

I had a bag of white chocolate chips from Trader Joe's in the pantry, I also have a huge amount of dried, sweetened cranberries in the pantry (these are a pantry staple IMO).  Chocolate Chips from TJs don't come with recipes on the back, so I checked a bag of ghiradelli chips while I was out shopping to jog my memory.  Then when I got home, in a 'was it baking soda or baking powder?' panic, I checked my Better Homes & Garden's New Cook Book recipe, then out of curiosity my Kitchen Aid mixer booklet.

I didn't follow any of the recipes, this is what I decided to do:
Cranberry White-Chocolate Chip Cookies

1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup shortening
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 bag white chocolate chips (make sure a main ingredient is cocoa butter)
1 cup dried cranberries, chopped
extra granulate sugar (optional)

Preheat your oven to 375 F. Cream the butter and shortening, add the sugar and beat untill smooth.  Add the eggs and vanilla.  In a small bowl whisk the dry ingredients together, gradually add them to the wet ingredients then mix in the chips and cranberries.  Scoop cookie batter onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper (for easy clean-up) about 1 1/2"-2" apart.  I use a cookie scoop that holds about 1 tablespoon of dough when slightly overfilled (officially it holds 2 teaspoons).  Bake for 9 minutes (my oven kept getting up to 400F so ymmv).  Remove from oven and let cool on cookie sheet for 5 minutes then transfer to a cooling rack. 

Optional step:  Roll your dough into balls, then roll into the extra granulated sugar before baking.  This gives the cookies a nice glisten and even, rounded appearance.  I only did this with the last 5 cookies but now that I've eaten both a rolled and unrolled version, I might have to go with the extra step whenever I have the time.

I swear this recipe made 85 cookies (I didn't snack on any cookie dough!) but maybe it was 65 cookies.  I was able to fit 20 cookies on each of my 12 x 17 cookie sheets.  And I think I did 4 batches of 20 plus the remaining 5 cookies.  I also just reused the parchment paper on each cookie sheet (I bake cookie sheets one at a time, letting one sheet cool and re-filling it while the other is in the oven).  I also want to experiment with my flour, fat and liquid contents to get a fluffier, chewy cookie.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

February 15, 2007. Tags: , . Thoughts.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

