Where did the days go?

I just caught up with my neighborhood reading (4 pages!) and am baffled how I let so much time pass.  I feel like I haven't accomplished anything lately, I keep stumbling into various roadblocks, I know I've made progress on various projects but I haven't finished anything.

Granted the weekend before last we went on a little getaway to the coast, staying in a room at an Inn with a kitchen, cavorting on the beach, wandering around a little town and going on a nice hike.  So that week I was awash in meal planning prep.  I ended up going to Whole Foods, Wild Oats, a local store that could out my location, Trader Joe's, World Market and the local supermarket to get everything I planned on buying (and of course we brought so much home).  What did I get?

  • Cheese (manchego, rogue smoky blue, brie with mushrooms, monterey jack with rosemary, chevre)
  • Bread (one par-baked baguette, one baguette sliced and made into crostini)
  • Crackers (water and mixed seed flat bread)
  • starfruit
  • apples
  • minneola tangelos
  • sparkling blueberry juice
  • "fresh" orange juice
  • a tub of stuff from the antipasto/olive bar
  • fresh salsa
  • cilantro-jalapeno hummus
  • pretzel slims
  • tortilla chips
  • dried figs
  • dried papaya
  • dried apples
  • mexican-spiced mixed nuts (a New Best Recipe Book, amazing even though I screwed it up)
  • nuts over blueberries trail mix
  • hot chocolate mix
  • mini-marshmallows
  • chocolate covered caramels
  • tomato and roasted red pepper soup
  • 1 bottle of wine and 2 half bottles of wine
  • and a car snack bag with chips, haribo grapefruit gummies and soda

Honestly I feel like I'm forgetting some of the food (I did forget to pack the eggs for breakfast so we had to skip our omelets with goat cheese) because it filled two grocery bags plus one smaller bag and a bag for the wine.  We ate so good that weekend.  If you get a chance to try Rogue Smokey Blue cheese do it, it is so yummy, blue but not too tangy, smoky but not overpowering.  I can't wait to eat it again.  We didn't even touch the stuff in italics and had lug that home.  It was a very nice refreshing weekend together.

Well tonight TheHusband tackled the obstinate hole that would not drill and now I can finish putting up the curtain rod (I got one bracket up but couldn't get the other bracket up) tomorrow.  I will then put up the bought curtains and move my desk back into place, make the bulletin board I've planned for a month or more, hang that and another picture, put files away and somehow clear off our futon so I have some craft-working space that isn't our bed.

And I finally tackled seaming and finished my brother's christmas hat.  Pictures tomorrow, I promise.  I also started a new secret project (DK weight plus seaming, ack).  And I got stuck on my UFO sock, hopefully someone will have advice at tomorrows knit night (though asking questions isn't as big there as my last knit group).  A few days ago I finished hand quilting a blanket I'm working on, hopefully the binding will go on tomorrow.  I have a lot of hopes for tomorrow, better go make a list.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

March 14, 2007. Tags: . Thoughts.

2 Comments

  1. bookishbiker replied:

    Oooh if you like smoked blue cheese then I have a hot tip for you! I have a friend who has a booth at pretty much EVERY farmer's market in your metro area – the markets are purposely on staggered days so vendors can do the rounds. He's definitely always at the really nice Saturday one in the downtown area by the university. He's got very short, very bright orange-red hair and always wears a chef jacket and sells the most amazing pestos and salad dressings. And one of the dressings is smoked blue cheese. It is fantastic. His name is Dave and he's a super nice guy.

  2. AnotherYarn replied:

    I will definitely keep an eye out for your orange-haired friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

