Knitting hiccup

Unfortunately I purchased a number of straight knitting needles before I figured out that I don't like working with them.  Now I don't mind the short 10" variety but I do have a few 14" sizes.  Using them isn't the end of the world, but I'm not nearly happy about losing one as I wish I could be.

Last night I went to my usual LYS knit-night and worked on the front of the sweater (my first vacation yarn project), stuck the needles in my bag as I left,  walked to my car, got in my car, drove to a friend's house for some Firefly watching, pulled out the vacation yarn project and…only one needle (luckily the one with the work on it).  I'd estimate that I've already knitted about 1/2 the sweater.  I don't want to buy another set of plastic 14" needles, but the company (Lion Brand) doesn't make plastic US6 needles in any other format (okay I think they do make dpns, but my local big-box craft store doesn't carry them and dpns are the wrong tool anyway).  So now I get to scour the internets and LYSs for a US6 plastic circular needle and hope it doesn't noticably change my gauge.  Boo.  The pattern recommends Pony needles, and IIRC they are plastic so at least there is hope.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

April 12, 2007. Tags: , . Thoughts.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

