Why is the good stuff always expensive?

I just got to taste my first Dry Soda (lemongrass).  Yum.

On my birthday I ran across a few remaining bottles of Dry Soda at an international grocery store.  I first read about dry soda a few years ago on Not Martha and was intrigued.  I was even in Seattle a while ago and forgot to purchase a bottle or four (well I did stop by a grocery store that sold 4-packs of one single flavor).  Since each bottle cost 2.19 I only picked up the two flavors that appealed to me most (lemongrass and lavender).

Back to the lemongrass soda.  I was a little worried that it would end up reminding me of some sort of lemon-lime soda.  It didn't, I mean it was sort of there but not really and the flavor was definitely different, subtle but present.  I also think the bubbles were different, they felt smaller.  A 12 oz has 50 calories (opposed to 140 for traditional soda) and 14 grams of sugar (opposed to 39 for 7-up).  It is sweetened with cane sugar.  It has beautiful packaging.

I put off trying this soda for almost 2 weeks, now I want to hop in the car and make the 30 minute drive to the store where I found them and buy more.  Not that I would, but I want to.  Luckily I have a lavender soda waiting for me in the fridge as soon as I figure out the right time to drink a lavender flavored soda.  Maybe I should go make some citrus-basil cupcakes to go with my lavender soda.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

April 24, 2007. Tags: , . Thoughts.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

