You gotta make this

Well, maybe you might want to make sure you like arugula first but…

Last fall I finally got the chance to make the arugula pesto from Emira's blog, domicile, and enjoyed it so much I felt compelled to email her and thank her.  Tonight I had the chance to make this again, but I used more lemon since Girly Mae's spaghetti with meyer lemon-pistachio pasta recipe with similar flavors (in different proportions) intrigued me.  I just love this stuff (I, um, licked the bowl we tossed the pasta in).  It was a simple meal tonight, made too late to get pictures, just a decently crusty mini bagette, some olive oil & balsamic for dipping and the arugula pesto topped with parmasean and toasted silvered almonds.  I think the arugula pesto would also make a great sandwich spread for a veggie sandwich with a softer cheese (perhaps a brie).

For dinner tonight I did the following:
Start water to boil.  Set out small plate with olive oil and balsamic vinegar for bread.  Heat a small skillet to medium and dump in walnuts, tossing occassionally.  Dump pasta in boiling water.  Blend together:
1/4-1/2 cup olive oil
few handfuls of arugula
1/4 cup of toasted walnuts (often I used toasted almonds but today we had walnuts)
1 clove garlic
the zest & juice of one meyer lemon

In a bowl (or the pasta pot) toss pesto with whole wheat spaghetti, top with toasted nuts and freshly grated parmasean.  Slicing the bread is optional.  I also recommend saving a bit of the pasta water to thin the pesto if needed.

Enjoy 🙂

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

May 21, 2007. Tags: , . Thoughts.

One Comment

  1. Girly Mae replied:

    Hey there! I'm way behind on keeping up with my neighborhood, but my mom (a consummate knitter) just emailed me that you namechecked my arugula/lemon pasta in your post! Your version sounds delish too, I'll have to try it!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

