all the traveling

I'm currently at my aunt's house enjoying her wi-fi, I flew her to participate in the celebration of my cousin's high school graduation.  He is such a great kid, we are all a bit worried about his departure to college (a Cal Poly), since he is of the absent-minded scientist variety, but I'm sure he'll step up to the plate.  His sister had her 8th grade promotion ceremony the night before (so I got to attend that too), and poor girl doesn't get that not everyone sees that as a big deal.  Though I know it is a big deal to her.  Then it occurred to me that she might have to share her HS graduation with his college graduation.  Uh oh, it is almost enough to make me hope her brother takes just a bit longer than 4 years (and he might, sounds like he is considering a combined program that takes 5 years and finishes with a masters degree).  It would be nice if she doesn't have to share that celebration.

And suddenly I find myself contemplating all the family/friend celebrations I would like to be present for… all of which will require long road trips or plane flights (this would be in addition to the general holiday travel and hopefully seperate vacation travel and hopeful professional conference travel).

  • Friend's wedding in July- check (just bought my tickets, woo!)
  • Friend's wedding in March '08
  • Cousin's wedding in June '08
  • Brother's HS graduation in May '09
  • Cousin's HS graduation in June '11
  • Sister's HS graduation in May '12
  • Cousin's college graduation in June '11 or '12…

That doesn't include unknown weddings (and the September wedding of a high school friend I only vaguely keep in touch with) or trips just to visit with someone or see a new place.  It does include 1 trip to Hawaii and 1 trip to the east coast.  I wonder if all my fun money will be spent on airline tickets in the next few years?

Read and post comments

June 17, 2007. Tags: . Thoughts.

One Comment

  1. fauxmiddlechild replied:

    Hopefully their graduation won't be on the same weekend even if they are in the same year, that way they each get their own moment to shine.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

