More knitting

Sorry for you folks who'd like to hear about the rest of my life.  I'm not doing much really.  Okay, so I am traveling to Atlanta to go to a friend's wedding this weekend.  I'm very excited, I get to see my best friend and her family for the first time in almost a year (and hopefully other friends).  Plus I still regret missing another college friend's wedding due to work craziness almost two years ago (they hit a crunch period and were not approving vacation time, a work-buddy nearly quit over that).  Other than, I'm not doing a whole lot I swear.

Anyway, my knitting progress.

I made TheHusband a camping hat to keep his head warm at night (since nights do get a bit chilly).  This is thinner and lighter than his alpaca hat I made him in December.  It is my basic hat non-pattern, I didn't do a gauge swatch and just did a test fit after about 3 inches.  Which meant of course that I had to rip out those three inches and cast-on 8 stitches fewer than the first time.  Here are the stats:

Yarn: RYC cashcotton DK in sage and RYC cashcotton 4 ply in seafoam held double
Needles: US5 (16" bryspun circs, then bamboo dpns)
Cast-on: cable (I know it isn't very stretchy but I like the look), 112 stitches
4 rows or so of garter stitch then stockinette, no clue how many rows…

I am also almost done with the toddler sweater that I started at the end of March.  March people, sigh, it is a good thing I picked the larger size otherwise the recipient might have outgrown it before I finished (fingers crossed).  I think it is what I deemed my June UFO challenge, cause I was just getting tired of knitting it, and now it appears to be part one of my July UFO challenge.  I have about 8 more rows to go on the sleeves, the bottom edging, the sleeve edging, blocking, some seaming, the shawl collar, and more seaming and blocking plus a button to find and attach.

I am knitting the sleeves at the same time, which is both a blessing and a curse.  I've had to stop a couple times to count my rows because I forgot which direction I was knitting and had one sleeve on each end of the needles.  But no wonder if feels like it is taking forever:

The sleeves (which I am knitting at the same time, sigh) are way bigger than the front.  Oh the front pieces went so quickly once I got over the shaping hurdle.  What are those pink threads?  Various markers of mine to keep my brain straight.  I have a pink bit between the sleeves so I don't knit them together, I have pink stitch markers so I know when I finally get to stop doing my decreases, I have a pink line from when I got mixed up in which direction needed to be knit and the number of stitches did not help (no more knitting this while visiting with friends).  And I really need to finish these sleeves* so i can use the needles for my next project, a pink tank top, and hopefully finish while it is still warm enough to wear it.

*the edging and collar is worked on a smaller needle

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

July 11, 2007. Tags: , , . Thoughts.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

