Sweet idea

Today I stopped by a fairly new, local fabric store (stocked mostly with cottons, but the store appears to be trying to catch a broader audience than just quilters).  While I was there, an older man came in the store to look around.  He told us how he started quilting after his wife died.  He had all these clothes of hers and no clue what to do with them.  Someone suggested he make a quilt out of her clothes.  So his daughter gave him a quilting book and loaned him her machine, he spent a couple hours reading the book then started cutting up his wife's clothes.  He joked that he couldn't be in denial while cutting up her clothes.  But then he went on to say that he included some of his clothes too.  And he uses the quilt on his bed, so he is never really sleeping alone. 

In a way this story was very sad, but from his demeanor you could tell he was at peace with his loss and that he cherished the quilt and knows that his children also will cherish that quilt.  He has also gone on to make something like 40 more quilts and is a regular quilter.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

August 4, 2007. Tags: , . Thoughts.

2 Comments

  1. bookishbiker replied:

    wow, that made me cry. what a sweet man.

  2. Fattypants replied:

    Oh, I would love to have a quilt made with some of my mom's clothes, but I totally suck at sewing, and I'm not sure I could handle doing it myself. I wonder if it would be possible to commission one…

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

