Snacking on apples

This afternoon I had half a honeycrisp diced up and mixed with cottage cheese.  It was a very nice afternoon snack, though I think I still prefer granny smith apples in my cottage cheese.  Or maybe it was the peel that threw the balance off.  Maybe I'll peel it next time.

If you are lucky enough to see Honeycrisp apples in your store/farmer's market/fruit stand you should definitely pick up at least one to give it a try.  They are lovely and crisp and crunchy and sweet with just a bit of tart and juicy and possibly the perfect apple.  Just save some for us.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

September 20, 2007. Tags: , , . Thoughts.

4 Comments

  1. Fattypants replied:

    Ooh, yeah, I just got a big bag of them. I had one for dinner last night with peanut butter. Yum!

  2. AnotherYarn replied:

    Apples with peanut butter, another of my favorite snacks (or breakfast or lunch). And recently we had whole grain toast with almond butter and topped with thinly sliced apples for breakfast. It was quite yummy.

  3. Fattypants replied:

    Oh, yum! Do you have Specialty's Bakery there? One of their sandwiches is peanut butter, thin apple slices, cranberry sauce, sunflower seeds, and banana. I have never ordered it there because I am terrified that they will forget to hold the banana (and that is the one thing I don't like that I can't just pick off–banana essense lingers), but I have duplicated it at home.

  4. AnotherYarn replied:

    Oh that does sound very interesting. But I'm not sure about the banana either and I like bananas. I haven't seen a Specialty's Bakery though.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

