Weekend Breakfast

I love breakfast.  I rarely eat breakfast but I love it.  I do enjoy making weekend breakfasts, dishes that are more time consuming and fattening than real life normally accommodates.

We had french toast with a stewed fruit topping (compote doesn't seem accurate) last Sunday.

I wasn't feeling like having maple syrup on my french toast and so I decided to try and recreate a fruit stewed syrup like thing I read about somewhere.  I couldn't find the recipe so I just made it up.  I put 1 1/2 cups of frozen blueberries and 3 tablespoons of white grape juice to simmer on the stove.  Once the fruit defrosted I started mashing it.  Unfortunately I used too much juice and it was not getting syrupy.  Then I realized that we had lots of pears and apples available.  I picked up a very ripe pear, peeled it and cut it into a fine dice then added that to the blueberries.  I was hoping that the pears would have pectin and that would thicken things up.  They didn't thicken the juices at all, but the additional fruit added bulk and that helped as well.  I let this mixture simmer while I made the french toast.

I made my basic french toast: one egg per person, a splash of milk (somewhere between 1/8 and 1/4 cup) per egg, a drop of vanilla extract and a good sprinkle of cinnamon beaten together.  I always use a pie plate for the custard, it is deep enough that spills don't happen, wide enough that bread fits easily but not so wide that the custard is too thin to soak the bread.  I give bread a brief soak on each side then put it in a pan with a bit of melted butter, flipping once, maybe twice if necessary.  I think the amount of custard I made coated 5 or 6 pieces of bread.

Anway, the stewed fruit or compote or whatever you call it was delicious.  The approximately 2 1/2 cups of fruit was just the right amount for the two of us (we are generous with our fruit topping) and the juice that would not thicken was still very yummy soaked into the french toast with bits of fruit on top.  I'm not sure if I want to go back to maple syrup on my french toast at all.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

October 8, 2007. Tags: , , . Thoughts.

2 Comments

  1. Emily replied:

    See, it's talk like this that makes me want to

  2. Emily replied:

    Well, how interesting. The comment was supposed to end with "hop in the car and come visit you. YUM!"

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

