Do you have your Jack’o’Lantern yet?

Last week I decided I really wanted to make a cute Halloween bag and decided applique was the best method to accomplish it.  This is my first applique project ever.   I used a couple different methods for the applique.  First I used this method for the pumpkin and pumpkin stem hand stitching them down and using the machine for additional detail, then I used a two-sided paper backed fusible interfacing for the eyes and mouth, followed up with a zig-zag around each face element to hold it in place and hopefully prevent fraying.

And I'm proud to say that all the primary supplies for this project was stuff I had at home.  The striped fabric was literally scraps leftover from another project, as is the stem fabric, and the pumpkin, eyes and mouth fabric were bits of fat quarters I had.  Unfortunately I did need to go buy some thread and two-sided fusible interfacing to complete the project.  I just drew jack'o'lantern faces by hand until I had something that I liked both face and size-wise.  I taped it to my window during a sunny day in lieu of a light-box to trace some of the pieces (eyes and mouth).

halloween bag lininghalloween bag size comparisonPair of jack o'lantern trick or treat bags

But I still need to buy a pumpkin (or three) to carve before Wednesday.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

October 27, 2007. Tags: , , , . Thoughts.

4 Comments

  1. FantasyLibrarian replied:

    So cute!

  2. Emily replied:

    Oh yes, Anna loves her bag! We'll use it on Wednesday. 🙂

  3. AnotherYarn replied:

    Yay! I'm glad she liked it. And thank you FantasyLibrarian 🙂

  4. fractone replied:

    Sophie loves hers, too. I "borrowed" it to use as a purse on Sunday, and she stole it back before the end of the day. I just showed her the picture of the jack o' lantern face and asked her what it was. She said, "Bag! Look, Daddy, my bag!" and dragged Miguel over to see it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

