Baking

Two cookies down and two more to go, plus the peppermint bark I haven't started yet.  But really all I want to do is go to sleep.  Which means that even though I feel like I should make a fifth type of cookie I won't.  For whatever reason I didn't have my cookie baking mojo going this year (scratch that I didn't have any holiday mojo).  I kept browsing through my various Martha Stewart Cookie special issues (2001 & 2006) seeing new cookies I wanted to try.  But I mail most of these cookies to family, and they have opinions on what they like too, not to mention some of the fabulous looking cookies don't strike me as good choices to arrive via USPS.

To keep things interesting but stable I try to balance the favorites (Mexican Wedding Cakes aka Snowballs and Spritz) with new recipes.  Right now one of those "new" recipes, Lemon Scented Ginger Almond Crisps, is in the oven.  I've been wanting to try this recipe for several years now but kept finding myself short one ingredient; by sheer luck I had all of them on hand today.  I also made Spiced Biscotti from The New Best Recipe, it struck me as very similar to a lost recipe of mine.

Also, taking a cue from a few blogs I read around thanksgiving I started a christmas cookie and candy spreadsheet to track what I bake, the actual yields (I got 58 cookies instead of the stated 36 with my Mexican Wedding Cake Cookies recipe) and a second worksheet that has an ingredient break-down to aid pre-holiday grocery shopping in future years.  Hopefully this also means I won't loose another recipe if it becomes a recipient's favorite.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

December 18, 2007. Tags: , , . Thoughts.

2 Comments

  1. fractone replied:

    Thank you for finally writing something. I know; it hasn't really been that long. Just seems like it with my days so empty as of late. I made Mexican Pecan Bars and fudge to start off the holiday baking–funny, neither of those are baked. Unfortunately, I've already eaten nearly half of the fudge. Perhaps I'll make another batch to give. The recipe didn't seem to make as much as I remembered. It was fun talking to you the other day. Miss you.

  2. AnotherYarn replied:

    I loved our phone conversation. And I've not felt like I had a lot to post about as my knitting is currently super secret or boring gauge swatch stuff, I've not been cooking anything interesting and haven't touched my sewing machine in weeks. Which leads me to wonder, what have I been doing with my time?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

