FO: the 2007 sweater

Remember last January when I was planning my first sweater?  No, that's okay, I forgot too.  Well I bought the pattern (in February I think) and I did a couple swatches (in June or July) but then I never actually cast-on.  The first two swatches didn't come out to gauge, and I had other projects on the needles so I kept getting put off swatch #3 and suddenly 2007 was practically over; I hadn't even cast-on and I still had finished this baby toddler bolero that I started in March and that had to be done before the child would outgrow it.

In April I lost one of the straight needles I was using for this project, but that had a happy ending when I discovered the joy of Bryspun circular needles.  In July I finally finished knitting the sleeves,which felt like behemoths compared to the short bolero fronts and back pieces.  Then in September (I think) I went out and bought Nancie Wiseman's Knitter's Book of Finishing Techniques to help me get over my fear of seaming knits (fabulous book btw, it now lives in my knitting bag).  Sometime after that I got up the nerve to pick up all 225 stitches along the collar.  And then in December, while flying to visit our family over christmas I ran out of yarn while casting off (a picot cast-off) the shawl collar on the plane.  About 40 stitches from the end!  And I had no other knitting with me and a few more hours stuck in a plane.


Luckily I still had a bit more yarn packed in my luggage and the airline did not loose that luggage.  So I was able to finish casting-off the morning we arrived at my MIL's house, I started seaming up the arms and sides that night at my mom's and then the next day in the car on the way to visit S&E.  I was weaving in the ends just minutes before we met up with S&E and "Ladybug".  But luckily the sweater fit 🙂


I didn't talk about this sweater much during the knitting process because I discovered E's blog and she discovered my blog (thanks Ravelry).  I wanted it to be a surprise, not a christmas suprise, but such is life.

Pattern: #1646 Bolero and Hat by Sirdar [double knitting], it is sized 0-3 months up to 5-6 years; I knit the 3-4 year size and Ladybug turned 3 a week ago.
Yarn: Sirdar Snuggly DK, 3-50 gram balls around 191 yards each, nylon/acrylic blend, (25 grams leftover, including the swatch)
Time: late March to late December with a lot of "zzzzz" time

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

January 24, 2008. Tags: , , , . Knitting.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

