FO: Retro Redux Shrug

All done.  I skimped out on a couple things since I was knitting on a deadline.  I started knitting this on February 20th with the intentions of wearing it to a friend's wedding on March 15th.  I finished the shrug on the second leg of my flight to the wedding locale on March 13th and then weaved in the ends from the last ball of yarn at the hotel that night.  I maintain my general rate of no more than 1 ball of yarn per week (blargh).

Stats: Retro Redux Shrug from Lace Style; 3 entire balls of Karabella Aurora 8 yarn; Bryspun needles in size 8, 9, 10 and 10 1/2 (oh and a 2x" bamboo needle in size 8 for the collar); long tail cast-on and basic cast-off (I think there was a better choice but I ran out of research time); I downsized the pattern in wing-span length but not cast-on numbers.

I'm pretty happy with it, though I think it stretches a wee bit much over my shoulders making them feel unnecessarily wide and while it didn't keep me quite warm enough in the very cold room where the ceremony took place, I got quite warm while dancing at the reception and by the end of the night it started to fall off one of my shoulders.  I loved knitting with Aurora.  I plan on wearing the shrug again as soon as it gets warm enough (dratted cold weather) and while I have lots of knitting on my to do list I would be interested in knitting this pattern again.  It was dead easy to follow, though I would have liked more guidance on the right cast-on & cast-off choices.  I struggled and worried about the fit as well.  I ended up taking away like 4 inches from the smallest size wingspan (distributing those 4 inches between the various sections) which was a very good idea for me otherwise the cuffs would have been below my elbows (of course there is the excessive stretching across the shoulders…).

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

April 22, 2008. Tags: , , , . Thoughts.

2 Comments

  1. bookishbiker replied:

    Oh I'm using Karabella Aurora 8 right now for a project! I'm doing Knitty's Fetching fingerless mitts (for the third time) for a friend. I downsized to size 5 dpns (instead of 6) based on some comment by someone on Ravelry. I'm not sure it was the right call because it makes the fabric feel pretty stiff and not as soft as I hoped. But it shows stitches really well (including, alas, the one mistake I made so far). The shrug is beautiful, and what a vibrant color!

  2. AnotherYarn replied:

    I love the fetching pattern, I've made 4 pairs myself. I've used a US3 needle for one pair and I think a US5 for the others (worsted weight yarns).

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

