Recycling center

For the past 9 years I've lived in places where I do not have curbside recycling pick-up.  Luckily I've always had access to a recycling center of some sort.  However many recycling centers/containers are designed for those with curbside pickup.  For a long time we've made do with multiple paper bags to hold all the recyclables.  It got messy and cluttered.  When we used a single trash can we had to sort into bags before walking it to the recycle center.


Long story short I have settled on this solution:  wire shelf on casters from Bed, Bath & Beyond (not quite the right size but at 1/3 the cost of perfect-size shelf it was close-enough), and hanging bags from s-hooks.  I just had to sew the bags – I planned on using canvas but then I was walking through Ikea and saw the big blue bags and remembered how people (like Africankelli) were re-fashioning them into other bags.  So I bought one big blue bag hoping it would be enough for two smaller bags.  I grabbed my seam ripper and ripped out the bottom and side seam as well as the handles.  I cut the side piece in half, then determined how big my bottom of each bag could be and cut two bottoms from the original bag bottom.  I cut the long straps in half for two sets handles plus cut the short straps up to attach d-rings for hanging.


These two bags hold so much more than the one bin that fit on that shelf plus I'm not worried about rogue liquids weakening paper bags.  The handles are also much more comfortable than when I carried a very full paper bag. Success for less than $30.  The added bonus is that it holds the washcloths and hand towels I keep at the door to wipe muddy, wet Dog paws (and legs and belly and back and tail) and the top functions as a landing strip for mail and keys and such when we walk in the door.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

May 22, 2008. Tags: , , . Thoughts.

4 Comments

  1. Jedi Mama replied:

    That is great!

  2. bookishbiker replied:

    This is SO great. I hope you appreciate how capable you are. I might have the idea but doubt I would even attempt the Great IKEA Bag Caper.

  3. AnotherYarn replied:

    Thank you. The bag part is pretty easy if you understand how to make a basic tote bag and have a sewing machine. One warning though: the "fabric" of the big blue Ikea bags going through the sewing machine makes an awful screechy sound.

  4. Great $1 sewing tool | Anotheryarn Crafts replied:

    […] And I noticed that for quilting I wasn’t using most of the board anyway, so I re-purposed this cart (it fit in the space perfectly). I love that I can store things under the ironing space. When I […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

