First FO of 2009

Bright ScarfRight on schedule, if not on time, I finished knitting my grandmother’s scarf the day before her birthday.  If I lived close enough to bake her a cake I would have woven in the ends and blocked it that night; instead I wove ends in and blocked it through that week and it has been sitting waiting to be wrapped and sent since last Thursday.
Bright Scarf drapey

The scarf ended up being about 7″ wide and 48″ long and I managed to use 98 of the 100 grams I purchased for it – a total success if I ignore the fact I feel compelled to keep 2 grams of DK weight yarn.

Stats (Rav link)

  • Drop Scarf by Melissa Hills at kpixie.com
  • 2 skeins Classic Elite Wool Bam Boo
  • US 6 needles
  • didn’t bother measuring gauge

pattern mods: As recommended somewhere I purled the dropped stitch instead of marking it.  I did an extra repeat of the increase rows to have a final stitch width of 47 stitches (instead of 35), I did 15 straight row repeats, and an extra decrease repeat (as needed to match my increases).  I wouldn’t have thought to do the extra repeats if I hadn’t seen a great Malabrigo silky merino version on Ravelry that did it first.

February 11, 2009. Tags: , . Knitting.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

