Not knitting

Actually I’ve been knitting a little bit, a simple hat that might be for my grandfather, but I didn’t bring a camera so no pictures yet.  It is just my basic hat recipe made from RYC Cashcotton DK.  Last week I left for a nearly week long trip to visit my grandparents, whose health is ailing.  I thought I’d be home in time to not really interrupt my lackluster blogging but  I  ended up extending my visit by 5 extra days to help get their room ready for a hospital bed to make life a little easier (getting them to agree to the hospital bed however wasn’t so easy).  I was certain if I came home as scheduled I’d have sat at home feeling like I should have been helping my family.

Part of helping out involves removing and therefore clearing out a big old wooden desk that had been in their room for as long as I can remember (my grandparents moved into their house in the late 50’s or early 60’s). I found this recipe and thought my friend H would appreciate it. I’m sure it is from some crazy ewwww inducing cookbook but I just found a small scrap of paper almost the size of a 3×5 index card with this handwritten recipe:

Cream of Tomato Soup Salad

  • 1 can tomato soup
  • 2-3 oz cream cheese OR 8 oz cottage cheese
  • 1 small lemon jello
  • 1 cup hot water
  • 1/2 cup mayo
  • 1 medium green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 cup celery, chopped
  • 1 cup onion, chopped

Dissolve jello in hot water. Bring soup to boil. Add gelatin and cream (or cottage) cheese. Chill till syrupy – Add chopped vegetables and mayo. Regfrigerate till set – 2 hours.

March 23, 2009. Tags: . Thoughts.

One Comment

  1. Chris T. replied:

    Glad you’re back.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

