Very Little Counting Needed

Maybe some knitters count a lot – I don’t, to the amazement of my non-knitting family (they don’t knit but everyone seems to recall the “knit 1, purl 1” mantra). Frankly I have a hard time counting to 10 without getting distracted (5 seems to be my limit). Luckily stitch markers are wonderful visual aids (I marked ever 7 stitch repeat on my February Lady Sweater).  Instead of counting “knit 11, knit 2 together, knit 11, knit 2 together….” followed up by “knit 10, knit 2 together…” I count once, place stitch markers in the appropriate place, double check my counting and then decrease merrily along with the “knit until 2 stitches before marker, knit 2 together” method.  I don’t have to manually count – my eyes just automatically/immediately know where to decrease (I use coil-less safety pins to mark rows, first every two and then every 10).  Generally this works great, but for some reason I was having issues remembering if I was doing a decrease round or plain round while knitting the current hat.

Enter the “plain round” extra stitch marker.
Grandpas Hat

The brown marker is the beginning of a round.  Once I’ve completed a decrease round I slip the pink marker on right next to the brown marker.  Knit as usual.  Once I’ve completed the plain round I remove the pink stitch marker.  This way if I walk away from my work I just need to look for the pink stitch marker – if it is there I knit plain, if it isn’t I knit the 2 stitches before each marker together.

Maybe every other knitter has already thought of this – but I thought I’d mention it just in case as I learn a lot of little things here and there from fellow knitters.

(This is the hat I started last week for my grandpa – I finished but had to rip out the decreases due to making it too long.  The stitch markers are actually very small “snagless” hair bands – the diameter is maybe 3/8″.)

March 30, 2009. Tags: . Knitting, Thoughts.

One Comment

  1. I finally bought a zipper for the Urban Aran Cardigan | alice thelma replied:

    […] I bought two because I wasn’t sure about the length. Michelle offered to hold my hand during the process of installing the zipper and I may just take her up on […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

