New Knitting Tools

I enjoy getting new tools, but not quite as much as I enjoy finding new ways to use something as a tool.  Recently, Lindsey at Chronicles of Yarnia, shared a new, desperation tool idea: bobby pin as darning needle.

I also have one of my own, I’m sure I’m not the first to think of this but both women in my fair isle class commented on this so I thought it worth sharing: old pantyhose as yarn “bras”.

IMG_2078

It is pretty simple really, just cut a pair of pantyhose (or tights) into 2 tubes long enough to cover your center-pull yarn ball or cake. As you use the yarn it will compress into a smaller, but not overly compact, ball. I did this to both keep neat yarn balls and to keep my two colors from getting too tangled while I wrestled with fair isle for the first time. I’ve only tried this with 50 gram balls of yarn so far but am guessing that as long as you cut the tube long enough to trade length for width it would work with 100 gram balls too.

December 12, 2009. Tags: , . Knitting, Solutions.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

