too long or too short

I’ve been plugging away at the long swaths of stockinette on sassymetrical (actually they aren’t that bad, I’m just not cut out for vast amounts of anything it seems) by working on it while at knit night or watching tv.  I’m on my 4th ball of yarn so I think I’m in the home stretch (I’m either going to need 4 or 5 balls).  But now I’m at the dangerous point where I want to be done and am loosing perspective on what the right length should be in the body.  This happened to me with my February Lady Sweater, I even cast-off the sleeves, only to go back and add about an inch to each sleeve.  How did knitters get stereotyped as patient?  Surely, I’m not the only one who has this issue (I don’t have a sweater similar in style, weight and cut, otherwise I’d just measure it).

IMG_2337

So, tell me what you think, how much longer should the body be?  I think it hits at the smallest part of my waist right now.  I’ve checked out the projects in Ravelry and some are quite cropped and others were knit to fall a few inches below the waist.  I think I do want this to be on the shorter side, but not ultra cropped.  The sleeve stitches are on holders too, but I’ll figure that out when I get to them (or come asking y’all again).

January 20, 2010. Tags: , . Knitting, Problems.

4 Comments

  1. Zarah replied:

    I think you should keep going, but if you’re worried about running out of yarn, go ahead and do the sleeves, then finish the body last. You’re almost done!

  2. bethh replied:

    I think it needs at least a couple more inches on the bottom. I looked at some of the finished pics on ravelry and I liked lulupickle’s a lot – it seems to go just to her hip.

  3. Emily H. replied:

    I think it depends if you want a summer bolero style sweater or something more wintery. Personally, because of the color and style, I’d probably go for a full, long sweater, with 3/4 length sleeves – but that’s very much my own style. Looks absolutely beautiful though – well done!

  4. Emily replied:

    Where your shirt hits looks like a good spot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

