Egads – Knitting Olympics

I just did it, despite a little, sensible voice at the back of my brain saying that I have too many other projects with deadlines looming, I signed up for the Knitting Olympics.  See, the 2006 Knitting Olympics was rather pivotal in my development as a knitter, Kat with a K convinced me to do it and I think of that project as the project that turned me from someone who knit occasionally to a Knitter.  Before the Knitting Olympics I spent my time making random swatches and had one successful project, a garter stitch scarf that took way too long to knit.  The idea that I could finish a project, even something as little as a hat, in two weeks seemed very challenging.  But I did it, and I didn’t even get hand cramps.  It was also the time I started reaching out to other knitters and learning so many wonderful details about knitting and yarn.

This time my project is a vest.  The Gilmore Vest has been in my mental queue for a long time (since September 2008).  Some project or other keeps bumping its place and so I decided that a vest would be challenging (sweaters tend to take me months, not weeks) but not setting myself up for failure and I had yarn I thought I could use for this project.  I swatched on 4.5 mm (US 7) needles and am way way off gauge.  So I’m going to do the math and figure it out.  Since I am 47 minutes away from the cast-on time I need to get cracking.

February 12, 2010. Knitting.

One Comment

  1. bethh replied:

    ooooh exciting! You’ll have to update. Are you making the vest for yourself?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

