Weekly Baking: Peach-berry Muffins

One of the reasons that I want to bake more is that I’m all about carbs at breakfast.  Quick carbs.  Toast and jam, muffins, scones, etc.  Oh, speaking of toast and jam – the whole-wheat molasses bread wasn’t a roaring success.  It came out very very dark and very strongly flavored.  I ate two slices the next morning, it made decent toast, except for that overwhelming molasses flavor.  I did like the texture so I think I need to try the lighter version made with honey.  I’ve edited that post to include a photo.

Last week I needed to use up some yogurt, and a handful of berries so I decided to make peach-berry muffins.  I grabbed my basic muffin recipe (from Better Home and Gardens New Cook Book) and modified it to use up the above ingredients.  I mean what else would you do with a scant quarter-cup of huckleberries (think wild blueberries) slightly past their prime and two, yes two, strawberries, plus we still had a handful of peaches from the 15 lbs we bought 2 weeks ago.

Peach-Berry Muffins
1 c all-purpose flour*
3/4 c whole wheat flour
1/3 c brown sugar*
2 t baking powder
1/4 t salt
1 beaten egg
3/4 c plain yogurt*
1/4 c oil
1/4 c berries (the strawberries were cut to be about blueberry size)
1 peach, peeled and diced

Preheat an oven to 400 F. Line 12 muffin tins with paper liners OR grease the tin. In a medium bowl whisk together the dry ingredients (the sugar counts as “dry” in this recipe). In a 2-cup liquid measuring cup beat the egg, add the yogurt and the oil (the egg should be about 1/4 cup so fill the yogurt to 1 cup and the oil to 1 1/4 cup; and hey look at that, one less bowl to wash) and beat together. Add the liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir to combine, add berries and peach, stir to incorporate. Fill liners about 2/3 full. Bake for 18-20 minutes.

*the original recipe uses just all-purpose flour, white sugar and milk – I never make plain muffins. I’m always adding some sort of mix-in, and often combine flours and occasionally use another dairy for the liquid. Generally I’m successful in this tinkering. Although this time around I had a wee bit too much flour, I’m guessing to the less liquid nature of yogurt versus milk.

These muffins turned out delightful. I hope I can remember to do this with more berries next time. I might have eaten half the batch over the course of the day, which meant these muffins did not provide breakfast for the entire week. I think I need to freeze them sooner to make them last. My one downfall was that while warm the muffins did not like to separate from the liners cleanly.

Peach-Berry Muffins

Does this happen to you? Do you know why? I did notice this problem went away when I ate a cold muffin as an afternoon snack.

September 22, 2010. Tags: , , . Cooking.

2 Comments

  1. bethh replied:

    totally happens to me too. I guess it’s the same thing as cakes – if you’re impatient like me you’ve learned that if you don’t cool them for a little while at least, they tend to leave tragically large chunks in the pan.

  2. alh replied:

    I hate when that happens. As it seems to always happen lately whether they are warm or room temperature, I’ve taken to spraying the liners with Pam before filling them, which works pretty well.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

