More Pickle Notes

Dilly Beans! Last year I never got around to making dilly beans, though I did convince my mom to make some. Then I forgot to bring home the jar after christmas. So this year I vowed to make Dilled Green Bean pickles (aka Dilly Beans!). I decided to try the Food in Jars recipe. Except I realized at about 9:45 pm that I didn’t have dill seed, but I did have dill weed in preparation for cucumber pickles (the dill heads at the grocery store looked very very sad and kind of icky). So work with what you’ve got… Additionally I used 1 hot dried pepper from my spice stash per jar instead of the cayenne (or red pepper flakes that another very similar recipe specified).

September 23, 2010. Tags: , , . preserving.

One Comment

  1. bookishbiker replied:

    I have a copy of a former library patron’s mother’s Dilly Beans recipe. He’d often bring us some of the tasty goodness but I haven’t ever made them myself. Maybe next summer!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

