Weekly Baking: Granola, take 1

A few weeks ago we went away for the weekend, and one day we stopped by a bakery for a quick tea and pastry. There was a big jar of granola on the counter and it just called to me. Sadly we didn’t have time to stay and granola and yogurt didn’t strike me as the best car food (possible yes, but…). Once I was home I decided I had to recreate the fetching granola display. Since a stop to Ikea was on the agenda, I grabbed another one of their Burken jars and looked around for my aunt’s granola recipes (which I was loving a few weeks ago at her house). I couldn’t find it and proceeded to open up every granola recipe I’ve ever bookmarked plus a few cookbooks and kind-of-sort followed one of them (well the wet-ingredient list anyway), throwing in a few ingredients I remember from my aunt’s go-to recipe. Mild success. It is tasty enough, but not the granola nirvana I was hoping for. However it had drastically increased the number of days I actually eat breakfast, so that is a win.

IMG_3489

Granola take 1 recipe: Everybody Likes Sandwiches Better than from a Bakery Granola
Stuff: oatmeal, almonds, pumpkin seeds, pistachios, sesame seeds, unsweetened dried coconut, dried cranberries, some vanilla and Penzey’s baking spice for extra flavor (note – do not use baking spice in granola again)

September 28, 2010. Tags: , . Cooking.

3 Comments

  1. bethh replied:

    I’ve become a big fan of this recipe: http://dinnerwithjulie.com/2010/08/27/quick-skillet-granola/

    stove-top, 5-minute, small-batch granola!

    Good luck on the quest, I sure love granola but haven’t made a big batch in ages.

  2. Zarah replied:

    Here’s my current go-to granola recipe. I eat this stuff every day with yogurt for breakfast and sometimes as an after-dinner snack with milk. I’ve tried making granola bars with it but haven’t successfully mastered that yet. If you couldn’t tell, I really like it.

    In a large bowl throw together the following ingredients for the granola, substitute as you see fit.

    * 6 cups rolled oats (do NOT substitute quick cooking)
    * 1 cup slivered or sliced almonds (pecans are also good)
    * 1 cup roasted sunflower seeds (or cashews or nut of choice)
    * 1 cup shredded coconut

    In a small bowl mix together:

    * 1/2 cup honey or mild molasses (or any combo of the two)
    * 1 tsp vanilla
    * 1 tsp kosher salt (reduce if any of the nuts are salted)
    * 1/2 cup, packed brown sugar
    * a scant (meaning not quite to the line) 1/2 cup vegetable oil (the original recipe recommends peanut oil, I use olive oil)
    * 1 T. wheat flour
    (This mixture will look kinda gross and oily. That’s okay.) Once this is stirred together, pour it over the oat mixture and stir until distributed evenly. (it may seem like not enough to coat everything. Once it heats up in the oven it will distribute more evenly when you stir it.)

    Spread on two baking sheets and bake for 1.5 hours at 250F, stirring once or twice. The oven doesn’t even needs to be preheated.

    Allow to cool and store in an airtight container. -Now is when you stir in the dried apples, raisins, dried cranberries, whatever floats your boat.

  3. Granola craving satisfied « Anotheryarn Crafts replied:

    […] off my mental to do list. Until I run out and crave it again anyway. Apparently I get the urge to make granola in the fall. And the last two morning have felt like fall – it is such a beautiful time of […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

