Weekly Baking: Beer Bread

A tried’n’true recipe that I originally found on Epicurious and so simple I was astounded when I saw beer bread box mixes (though I have been known to mix up the dry ingredients and package them nicely with a bottle of beer and jar of jam for a nice little gift).
Beer Bread
We generally end up making this with whatever beer we have around the house. I’m rather picky about the beer I drink, but like to try new stuff and generally even if I don’t like drinking the beer it makes for decent beer bread (though there was one red ale that bombed), once I made it with a bottle of hard cider left at our house – that resulted in a sweeter loaf, but overall still tasty and successful. It is quite tasty untoasted with softened butter, makes great toast with jam and I often bake a loaf to take camping. I’ve made a couple small changes from the original recipe, first reducing the amount of butter and second skipping the “melt butter” step. My friend Liz makes a version with garlic and herbs that I really must try soon.

Beer Bread

Beer Bread
3 c all-purpose flour
3 T sugar
1 T baking powder
1 t salt
1 -12 oz beer, at room temperature
2 T butter, cut into small pats (at least 6 different pieces)

Preheat the oven to 375 F. Grease a 9×5 loaf pan.

In a medium bowl whisk together all the dry ingredients. Pour the beer into the bowl and stir until everything is just mixed (sometimes it foams up a lot so I wait a couple of minutes before stirring, if you have any other tips on this I’d love to hear them). Pour into prepared pan and dot the top with butter. Bake 35-45 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean. Try to let it cool before slicing it.

October 6, 2010. Tags: , , . baking, Cooking.

2 Comments

  1. Emily replied:

    Wow, that does look easy. Weekend bread making, here I come!

  2. Monday Soup: Lemony Red Lentil with cilantro | Anotheryarn Crafts replied:

    […] who isn’t as excited about lentil soups as I am), or another tasty bread (pretzel rolls, beer bread, or a nice crusty slice would all work well). And in my house that is dinner. I might add salad if […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

