Finished Object wrap-up and a tip

First the tip. When you knit a square from one corner to the opposite (such as a blanket knit on the bias or a shawl from the center out) at first it feels like you are making great progress. But then your rows get longer and progress looks slower.  Also, you find yourself counting stitches a lot (and my brain whines, “can I decrease yet?”). To make counting stitches easier I marked my stitches off in groups of 10. But wait, you can’t just pop a stitch marker on the end of the row every so often.  Except you can if you count from the center out. I marked the center stitch (actually I marked the center chunk that was less than 10 stitches, so I never had to count that “ones-digit” again) and then mark every 10 stitches from that center chunk.  Maybe a picture will make more sense.

IMG_2842 edit

The two center green markers surround my center 9 stitches. Then alternating stitch marker colors, I marked off every 10 stitches – this actually allowed me to count by 20s since I’d just count markers on one side of the center (29, 49, 69, and so on). And I just kept knitting, then when it looked like I had more than 10 stitches I’d pop another marker on (if your markers don’t open just remember to slip it on once that 10th stitch is on the needle). Easy stitch counting and progress becomes much more visible since it is easier to eyeball another 10 stitches between stitch marker and needle tip than notice the overall increase in length, especially when the work is piled in your lap.

IMG_3267

This spring and early summer I focused on knitting a baby blanket for a couple expecting their first child.  As I often do when knitting gifts, the pattern and yarn were picked because I liked them, wanted to work with them and they met the constraints of my recipients (since this was a surprise they had less input on those constraints but I still thought about what they might like).  I wanted to make Jared Flood’s Tweed Baby Blanket – but I knew it had to be made from a machine washable yarn.  Enter Berroco Vintage which has a great price, felt decent in the skein and came in the colors I was hoping to use (Berroco has some great colors).

IMG_3274

Pattern: Tweed Baby Blanket by Jared Flood (Rav link)
Yarn: 3.6 skeins of brown Berroco Vintage (worsted) and 1.5 skeins of green Berroco Vintage (worsted)
Needles: US 9 and US 10
Time to knit: 2 months (though 3 weeks was spent ignoring the 3 stitches that had to be grafted)
Finished size: IIRC 38″ (per pattern; but I can’t find my notes to be certain of my final measurements, so give or take 2″)
Mod: knit to gauge but gauge was measued after a run through the washer and dryer and not “blocked as for lace” – the blanket is nicely squishy and the feather and fan border not excessively lacy. This also nearly eliminated the scallop where center garter stitch square and border met, a sad but necessary compromise (you can still see it on the “wrong” side).

IMG_3265

October 8, 2010. Tags: , , , . Knitting.

2 Comments

  1. Emily replied:

    Beautiful! I love the colors that you chose, and the I-cord edge.

  2. bethh replied:

    I’m filing that counting tip away. I’m working on Citron right now http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/citron and just sometimes count out stitches by 25, which is a bit of a pain. I want to do my first shawl-type thing soon, and this may help!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

