Weekly Baking: Honey Wheat Bread

bread rises

Yes, a yeast bread.  I’m really not entirely sure why I was so scared, the recipe is quite similar to the pizza dough recipe (except rise times are different).  And I used my kitchen aid mixer plus dough hook so I couldn’t screw up the kneading part (also your hands don’t get as messy). It took me a bit to decide precisely which recipe to follow.  A white bread would have been a bit safer since wheat flour is heavier and often makes a dense loaf, additionally a lot of the recipes that I found are for 2 loaves and I didn’t want 2 loaves.  Finally I decided to half a honey-wheat recipe from a friend.  Except I kept the yeast the same (many recipes I looked at called for a packet of yeast per 3 cups of flour, while this recipe originally called for one packet of yeast per 6 cups of flour).  During the process I remembered how easy yeast bread can be when you use a stand mixer and it is actually the rise times that keep me from baking bread, I never remember to start at the “right time”.  Case in point, I started the bread around 8 pm and pulled this bread out of the oven around midnight.  I wouldn’t have baked at all that night except I forgot about that second rise time, it wasn’t until I was checking the recipe after the first rise that I realized my “mistake”.  But it worked out, we just stayed up a little late watching tv and being tempted by the smell of baking bread.  And it did keep us from cutting into the bread too soon since we just went to bed instead of wondering “is it cool enough to cut yet?”.

sliced

Honey-Wheat Bread
makes 1 9×5 loaf

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour (or bread flour)
1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
1 1/4 t salt
1 packet yeast (according to the packet that is 2 1/4 t)
5 T. of softened butter
2 1/2 T of honey
1 1/4 c. hot water* (about 115-125 F, use an instant read thermometer to check)
more all-purpose flour (probably 1/2 to 1 c.)
oil (I used olive oil, but really any mild oil will do)
butter (for greasing the pan and to rub on the finished bread)

*I have found that an equal mixture of boiling water and cool tap water get me in the vicinity of 115-125F.

Place the flours, yeast and salt in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the dough hook. Combine (either by a quick whisk or turning it on for a few seconds and letting the dough hook mix things). Add the butter and honey and turn the mixer on low for a few seconds to combine everything. Raise the mixer speed to 2 and slowly pour in the hot water. Mix the dough for 1-2 minutes. Now start adding more all-purpose flour, 1 tablespoon at a time, letting the flour mix in before adding more. Once the ball of dough has cleaned the sides of the mixer stop (it will now look like a ball of dough clinging to the hook, it will feel soft and a just slightly sticky; this takes about 2 minutes and I’m guessing 1/2 cup give or take of flour). Pour about a tablespoon of oil in a large bowl and coat the ball of dough, cover and let rise until doubled — about 1 hour.

When the dough has doubled, punch it down and turn it out onto a lightly floured surface. Knead for 2-3 minutes until it is nice and smooth. Form it into a loaf shape and place it in a buttered 9 x 5 loaf pan. Let it rise for 45 minutes. About half-way through this rise time you should preheat your oven to 350F. Bake for 35-40 minutes, until is it a nice brown color and makes a hollow sound when you tap the top of the loaf. Turn out the loaf onto a wire rack, and if you like, rub some butter over the crust. We do this sort of like you would with corn on the cob, hold the stick with the paper pulled away from one end and rub it over the loaf. It uses somewhere between a teaspoon and tablespoon of butter. You might also decide to rub the excess butter off the loaf with a paper towel. Both buttering steps are optional.

look how even!

I was ridiculously pleased with myself and took way too many photos. I also discovered that a cake saver makes a decent bread “box”; the loaf kept nicely for the whole week in my chilly kitchen.

October 19, 2010. Tags: , . baking.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

