Weekly Baking: Granola, take 2

I’m more or less keeping up with the baking, though I am forgetting to write about it.  It is beginning to feel normal.  I wavered back and forth regarding which granola recipe to make next. I ultimately settled on the skillet granola Beth suggested because the granola bug hit while I had chocolate chip cookies in the oven. Except, in my usual fashion, I had to tweak the recipe. I added a mix of almonds and pumpkin seeds, a handful of coconut, shake of cinnamon, dried ginger and about half a teaspoon of vanilla, and my usual dried cranberries. It didn’t make a lot, but it satisfied my granola craving. But, a word of warning, I had to give the cast iron skillet a good scrub and light oiling after cooking the granola. And the suds smelled like cinnamon.
IMG_3628
In the end I think I’ll stick to a small batch of oven baked granola. 2 cups of oatmeal plus various nuts and fruit is a nice sized batch for myself (TheHusband doesn’t eat granola) and fits on one cookie sheet.

November 2, 2010. Tags: , . Cooking.

One Comment

  1. Granola craving satisfied « Anotheryarn Crafts replied:

    […] to do list. Until I run out and crave it again anyway. Apparently I get the urge to make granola in the fall. And the last two morning have felt like fall – it is such a beautiful time of year here, but […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

