knit phobia conquered?

I hemmed a store-bought t-shirt a couple nights ago. It was about 6 inches too long, now it is about 3/4 of an inch too short (but hey it covers my belly when my arms are not over my head). I’m pretty sure I’ve seen a few dresses from ’80s movies that were shorter than this t-shirt was on me pre-hemming.

IMG_3772

I used 1/2″ steam-a-seam light, a twin ball-point needle, and wooly nylon in the bobbin all tips from this tutorial on Sew Mama Sew. I need to pick up another ball-point twin needle, because the one I bought is a little too wide (4.0); it worked, but the two stitch lines are farther apart than on the original hem. Whenever I hem I like to try to match the original as much as possible (thread color, thread weight, stitch length…).  I generally practice on the scrap of clothing I’ve cut away.
IMG_3775

You would think this would be my first foray into knit clothing, but no. For some reason sewing an entire shirt seemed more do-able, since that is where I started (no, wait – I made some xmas present that utilized knit fabric but didn’t require stretchy stitching – more on that later).  I suspect the idea of ruining a piece of fabric I kind of liked was better than an actual t-shirt in a color I love.  It is surprisingly hard to find t-shirts in my preferred colors (but I’m looking forward to stocking up on some Honeysuckle stuff, *fingers crossed*).  Now I just need to squash that urge to stock up on oodles of knit fabrics with my new found confidence, I still have a bit of woven stash to use up (and I haven’t successfully created a knit item that needs to really stretch over something and recover).

December 11, 2010. Tags: , , , . Sewing.

One Comment

  1. Emily replied:

    It seems like you’re putting down the knitting and crocheting in favor of sewing projects. The t-shirt looks great – I can’t really tell a difference in your hem compared to the original.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

