WIPW: the slippers I can’t quite finish

I actually forgot that these were a WIP (they are currently buried in the craft closet).  Back in November I decided to knit some house-slippers for travel house-shoes for myself.  I purchased the French Press Felted Slippers (Rav link) pattern despite my hesitation of all that seaming.  I cast on around thanksgiving and quickly got through most of the knitting, then I ran out of yarn while making the decorative straps.  Yarn I purchased back in January from a big box store.  Crap.  The whole point of these slippers is that strap and the button you attach to it.  So I bought more yarn, same color, but obviously not the same color-lot.  I crossed my fingers, hoped it wasn’t noticeable, and knit on, all 10 grams worth (1/10th of the skein, 1/10th of the skein that could have been hidden in the soles had I predicted this was going to happen). You know what is coming – the straps so do not match. The color mismatch screams at me from my feet in all but the darkest of lighting.

The slippers are wearable without the strap (I wore them over our christmas vacation, after a classic late-night felting foray mere hours before our plane took off, I packed the wet slippers in a ziplock and dried them next to my mom’s wood stove the following day) but really – that strap is why I bought the pattern. I bought buttons but I can’t quite bring myself to finish this project. It is in a state of flux. Do I add the strap and buttons? Which buttons (the $$ buttons or the $ buttons)? Do I come up with some new embellishment for the tops, maybe a bunch of flowers from Crochet Adorned (I bought some bright gold Full o’ Sheep yarn today for just this possibility)? I don’t know.

IMG_3900

February 9, 2011. Tags: . Knitting, Problems.

3 Comments

  1. AW2 replied:

    I would assume that the buttons I like are the expensive ones. 😉

    That said, perhaps it’s just the photography, but I just showed M your flickr picture and said “Can you tell the straps don’t match?” and he said “Don’t match each other? They look fine to me.” (So basically, are you being your own worst critic?)

  2. Emily replied:

    I agree with AW2, I don’t know if it’s just because it’s a photo, but I don’t see a difference in the color.

    That being said – will you wear them if you finish them? If not, then don’t do it. Re-knit them.

  3. bethh replied:

    aw that is terrible – but I agree with the above posts – even going to your flickr account, I can’t see the mismatch.

    I made the slippers myself and I really really like them, so I hope you take them out of time-out soon!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

