Valentines Ducks

Why?  Why not.  I think I started this tradition when I was in college, in possession of a rubber ducky shaped cookie cutter and no occasion to use it.  So I decided to make Valentines Ducks.  And it sort of stuck (except those years I forgot of course).  This year I kept it simple.  Sugar Cookies, confectionary sugar glaze (2 cups powdered sugar + 1/4 cup meyer lemon juice + red food coloring) and sugar sprinkles.

IMG_3984

I finally got to use a bunch of the fun brightly colored sugar I’ve been collecting. Just a fyi, the large clear sugar crystals didn’t look all that great (middle duck, 2nd column from the right) and the large purple sugar crystals were just so so. The smaller sugar looks much better on the glaze. And I kept a few plain in case there are any sugar sprinkle hating people out there (are there?).

February 14, 2011. Tags: , . baking, Cooking.

2 Comments

  1. tryityoumightlikeit replied:

    So fun! You’ve inspired me to order the VW bug cookie cutters I saw online and next Valentine’s Day I’m going to make Herbie the Love Bug cookies.

  2. Sugar Cookie Cutouts (Speedy Version) « Try It You Might Like It replied:

    […] was inspired to make Love Bug cookies by a post on Duck Valentines Cookies by Anotheryarn Crafts. I just couldn’t wait until next year to make […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

