FF: A dollar short, a week late

I finished the bedside pockets project last week but ended up with really crummy photos (our bedroom has horrible lighting on the best of days and is pretty much avoided unless we are going to bed or changing).

And more binding and binding, ugh.  Did I tell you I had to go buy binding for this twice?  In the end I was able to return two packages but still…

IMG_4139

Originally I bought I a package of 1/2″ single fold bias tape (4 yards) because I wanted skinny binding.  Then I realized that my guesstimate was wildly off and had to go buy another package.  Then once the pockets were together I realized how thick the multiple layers of fabric because and was worried my skinny binding just wasn’t going to cover it so I went and bought 2 packages of 1/2″ double fold bias tape (which is turns out comes in shorter lengths and might not have been enough).  But in the end I decided to try and make the 1/2″ single fold tape work – and it did, with barely any leftover (18″ at most). I also managed to use the machine the entire time (I was not looking forward to that much hand stitching).  Yay for being able to return things.

Ta da.

IMG_4145

There are only two issues: 1) do not look closely at my edges, my binding did not cover my basting stitches (which I didn’t pull out because there are areas where my binding is so close to the edges I worry about stitch integrity) and 2) we aren’t really using the pockets. I mean I did store my reading book in it for the week, but that just meant I ignored the reading book all week. I’m not sure if I should blame the book or the pocket on that.

March 11, 2011. Tags: , , , . Organization, Sewing.

4 Comments

  1. Emily replied:

    Well, from this angle it’s awfully pretty.

  2. Penny replied:

    what a great idea for a bedside pocket!!! And it’s so cute!

  3. Angie replied:

    I like it. I love the fabric. I think I bought a large amount of this fabric also, and then promptly forgot what I was going to use it for.

    I also like the idea of losing things in bedside pockets. Because it is nice to discover them later, and be surprised. Like, OH! Here that _______ is!

  4. Great $1 sewing tool | Anotheryarn Crafts replied:

    […] I didn’t have room for my ironing board to stay set up and not be in the way of something (the closet where my supplies were stored, the shelf the printer was and my futon were the usual things blocked). And I noticed that for […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

