WIPW: dreading the ramen

I’ve put off this day for months and months.  Finally I sat down with a Mad Men DVD (season 2, disc 1) and picked out the seaming, took some “pre-wash” measurements on my humongous actual item sized gauge swatches, and frogged the front.  I left the back piece intact and plan on washing it to get a few ‘post-wash’ measurements for [hopefully] more accurate gauge information. Because I still want a simple purple tank top from this yarn.

IMG_4164

And well, looky here, it appears that I never blogged this project. I started Petrie (Rav project link) last summer, at the end of June and almost finished it at the end of August. It was seamed and mostly hemmed – I just had oodles of ends to weave in when I tried it on and realized I wouldn’t ever wear it. What happened? I don’t know. Clearly something is amiss in either my gauge or my math for the waist-shaping addition (of course the shoulders don’t fit either).

IMG_3779

March 16, 2011. Tags: , , . Knitting.

3 Comments

  1. Emily replied:

    But it’s a beautiful color, and will look lovely when it learns to be the right size.

  2. Anna replied:

    it’s so frustrating when you have to frog a piece!
    I realized when we met today I gave you the wrong website. Mine has a dash inbetween the knit and shit part of it and I forgot to add that. Good luck with knitting that! I really like the color.

  3. knit decisions | Anotheryarn Crafts replied:

    […] yarn, GGH Linova (Rav link), I have 660 yards in my stash in a light purple. Originally I made it into Petrie but despite a huge gauge swatch (washed and blocked), and copious amounts of math to add waist […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

