Weekend goodness

Saturday was the last Portland Modern Quilt Guild All Day Sew of the year.  Practically any quilt guild event totally refreshes me for quilt sewing.  Although before hand I completely (well almost) panic regarding what project(s) I should bring to work on.  I ended up packing four different projects.  Ha.  The stack of fabric I lugged with me, versus the stack of fabric I actually used is nearly comical.  

IMG_5252

I’m a slow quilter, and I spent the first 4 hours of the day in a vague fog due to lack of sleep, so while some people made entire quilt tops, from cutting, piecing blocks and assembling the top… I made one 12 1/2″ block and almost finished a mini-quilt top (16 5″ blocks).  Of course I also had 3 mini fabric shopping trips, 1 lunch out with a friend, several good and sometimes long conversations, and gave a tiny bit on input into a charity group our guild is working on.

First up, my quilt-club (a group/class at a local quilt shop that involves making one block a month):  I would have never picked these fabrics myself, but I do like them.  However I’m not so happy with my which-fabric-where decision.  Oh well, I suspect the entire will work nicely when it is finally put together.  And these blocks are learning tools for me.

quilt club block

And now my mini quilt.  In my quilt guild we have some amazing artists, creating their own patterns and it is very inspiring.  But I’m mostly a copier, I see a quilt and think “I want that” so I set about to recreate it.  In this instance I spied a block that was part of Black Rock Stitchery (5th photo down) and  an entire quilt of them flashed before me.  And since I’ve had a piece of aqua fabric hanging around I decided to copy the color scheme too.  Now individually this block is a wonky cross and there are some beautiful wonky cross quilts out there, but I had a slightly different vision for it.  I did make a couple mistakes in my process, but overall I am pleased with the progress and execution of my vision.  The top isn’t quite complete, but after working on it for a few hours I decided it needed to let it sit for a bit.

IMG_5254

All in all, I really recommend putting effort into turning what can be a solitary activity into a social one.  But, if you notice, I only used the 3 fabrics sitting on the top of the pile and a small roll of fabrics (just enough) that I was given for the quilt club block.

October 23, 2011. Tags: , . quilting.

3 Comments

  1. bethh replied:

    That’s amazing looking! I had no idea there were guilds (probably would have guessed if I’d thought about it!). What a fun thing to do in a group. I don’t understand how it works though – are you in some huge church basement or something? Can you sit near enough each other to be social? Quilting seems like it requires a lot of room.

    • anotheryarn replied:

      Well guild meetings “just” need enough room to seat all of us (50+) as meetings are more speaker/audience but sewing events do require more space. We are lucky to be able to rent a large sewing classroom with tables, pressing and cutting surfaces so we bring our sewing machines and supplies. You know, there are knitting guilds too.

  2. africankelli replied:

    lovely! I am slow too. A slow reader, knitter, cook and sewer. And I feel like my work improves if I don’t rush.
    That bottom square reminds me of coral. Stunning!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

