FOF: Finished Object Friday

IMG_5181

An example of taking way too long to make something is this ducky blanket I sewed and crocheted last year.  A few hours in front of the television and a car ride to the coast was “all” it took to get the crochet border on, leaving me to wonder why did it take me 5 months between stitching two pieces of fabric together to get to the finished object. Of course I also can’t believe I just implied crocheting ~160″ of edging with size 10 crochet thread and a tiny steel hook measured in millimeters was quick.

IMG_5065

The timeline: I bought the fabric in 2006. I stitched the blanket together in April 2011. I quilted it together to guard against shifting in July and I crocheted the edging on it in September.

IMG_5180

And true to form I did a bit of swatching before diving into finishing the blanket.

IMG_5157

If you look closely you might notice that the edging changes a couple of times… better to test it out on this fabric scrap that the blanket.  I tried a triangular edge, and at least two different scallop sizes.

Oh yeah, and I made a test crochet thread project along the way (bonus finished object), earrings from Linda Permann’s book, Crochet Adorned.  I wanted to make sure I was comfortable with the crochet thread and steel hook before I attacked my blanket.

IMG_4820

February 10, 2012. Tags: , , . Crochet, Sewing.

3 Comments

  1. stirandstitch replied:

    what a lovely blanket!
    i’m curious as to how you added the crochet border…it almost looks like you sewed along without thread in order to make the holes, then you passed your hook through the holes and formed a foundation row along the edge of the blanket before crocheting the scallops?
    ps – the earrings are great, too.

  2. Emily replied:

    I like both the blankie and the earrings! This is probably a stupid question, but do you have to pre-punch all of the holes for the crochet border?

  3. FF: Ducky Quilt « Anotheryarn Crafts replied:

    […] That is when I spied the remaining 1/2 yard of the duck print used in the on my crochet-edged ducky blanket (such creative naming, I know).  I quickly plotted a low risk quilt, made of large squares, […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

