FF: Long awaited dissappearing nine patch

Finished Friday.  After putting off quilting for so long I managed to finish two quilts last December, the already shown Ducky Quilt and this quilt for my niece B.

IMG_5424

I had to practice another free motion quilting design, since I wanted to quilt this with randomly placed flowers.  When I was doing my practice piece I tried traveling from one flower to another but found the traveling stitches too distracting and chose to do each flower individually  – never again – soooo many ends to bury (4 per flower if I was lucky). I aimed for each flower to be about the size of my hand.

IMG_5418

The quilt measures about 45″ x 60″.  I used 5 fat quarters and 2 half-yards of the black & white prints for the front, a whole piece of green polka-dotted yardage that was just barely wide enough for the back (I had to quilt this, because it didn’t have the fabric overage a long-arm quilter requires) and 1/2 yard of a third black & white print for the binding.

IMG_5421

The quilting thread I picked out, a light green that looked subtly variegated on the spool but not at all on the quilt, was just different enough that I could see what I was doing as I quilted but it did not stand out – which meant that my random spacing left a few holes that I didn’t notice until the quilt was washed and crinkly.  Luckily the unquilted spots are still within the quilting distance minimum prescribed by the batting.

March 2, 2012. Tags: , , , . quilting.

2 Comments

  1. Emily replied:

    Very pretty! What are your plans for it? Snuggles with R?

    • anotheryarn replied:

      I gave it to my niece, she is 2.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

