Challenge Accepted

I, Michelle of Anotheryarn Crafts, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’13. I endeavour to wear one hand-made item each day for the duration of May 2013.

Eek! Since the first Me-Made month I watched along, envious of people diving into sewing clothes and loving their results. Clothes sewing was my first crafting love. I’ve wanted to sew my own stuff since I was 8 or 9. I used to do so (back when I naively skipped the muslim but garments turned out ok anyway), but in the last 10 years or so I’ve not been thrilled with my sewn results. However this year I realized that I do have some me-made garments and especially during “wool season” (in the PNW for lizard-me that is September through June at least) I often do wear handmade things (mostly hats and scarves but still).

IMG_0756
June 2009, I realized that I was wearing a lot of handmade: sweater, skirt and bag.

Anyway, I decided to give this a shot, I started tallying my handmade garments and have:

  1. purple corduroy skirt (seen above)
  2. grey twill skirt
  3. February Lady Sweater (seen above)
  4. Blackberry Cozy Sweater
  5. Blue peasanty blouse
  6. Amy Butler tunic
  7. Juniper pants (and I really want to make more)
  8. scarves/cowls/hats/jewelry/socks

Plus the two skirts that just need hemming. And plans, oh I have plans. I’ve been stashing garment fabric and it is time to stop treating them as too-precious to use (well, except the teal wool houndstooth fabric, that is still too precious). That seems sort of limited, but I don’t think my sartorial choices can get any more boring than they already are with the endless days of jeans + t-shirts + sweaters that I currently wear.

April 28, 2013. Tags: , , . Sewing, Thoughts.

4 Comments

  1. sarahkerner replied:

    That is a lot of wearable items! I have several knit sweaters that I’ve made that I’ll wear in public, but I’ve never been happy with anything I’ve sewn. Do you think skirts are the easiest place to start?

    • anotheryarn replied:

      Maybe, and just think I have more sweaters I’ve knit that I’m unwilling to wear than willing to wear. Plus I’ve made a few wadders (sewing term akin to Rav’s “ugh” but less chance of frogging). Skirts have been my most successful projects in the last few years but I think the first thing I ever made was a Blossom-esque vest and hat, followed by a series of dresses.

  2. Sarah replied:

    Good luck, Michelle! I’ll be cheering you from the sidelines, hope to get my act together to join you in future years. 🙂

    • anotheryarn replied:

      Thanks – and yes join me next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

