Pink drinks for summer

A bit over a week ago I found this recipe for strawberry-rhubarb infused vodka and I knew I had to make it. I haven’t had luck with infusions in the past but I did like that this recipe made a small batch. Also rhubarb….I’m a sucker for rhubarb.

I meant to try the drink included with the infusion recipe, or the spiked lemonade. But this afternoon I realized I forgot to pick up the necessary ingredients. So a “simple” vodka & soda was made (really a better test anyway).

image

1 1/2 – 2 oz infused vodka
6 oz soda or seltzer water
mint garnish optional

June 14, 2013. Tags: , , . Cooking, Life.

2 Comments

  1. Sarah replied:

    Mmm… I love rhubarb, too! I doubt I make enough mixed drinks to really make my own infused vodka worth it (especially these days), but yours sure are pretty!

    • anotheryarn replied:

      This was my first infused vodka success (chocolate vodka failed, rhubarb vodka failed, cucumber vodka failed) perhaps because I was always trying to scale down a recipe using an entire 750 ml bottle. I will say, my mixed drinks generally need to be simple to get made at all. Have you tried making rhubarb syrup to add to fizzy water? It is absolutely delicious (as a bonus, I’ve saved the sweetened pulp leftover from straining and spread it on toast).

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

